Sec. 47-7.22 CURFEW
(a) It is unlawful for a person less than 18 years of age to be present at or upon any public assembly, building, place, street or highway at the following times unless accompanied and supervised by a parent, legal guardian or other responsible companion at least 21 years of age approved by a parent or legal guardian or unless engaged in a business or occupation which the laws of this State authorize a person less than 18 years of age to perform:
Between 12:01 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. Saturday (midnight Friday to 6:00 a.m. Saturday);
Between 12:01 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. Sunday (midnight Saturday to 6:00 a.m. Sunday);
Between 11:00 p.m. on Sunday to Thursday, inclusive, and 6:00 a.m. on the following day.
(d) It is unlawful for a parent, legal guardian or other person to knowingly permit a person in his custody or control to violate this Section.
Under the Illinois Graduated Driver Licensing Program, the following nighttime driving restrictions apply to persons less than 18 years of age:
Between 11:00 p.m. Friday and 6:00 a.m. Saturday;
Between 11:00 p.m. Saturday and 6:00 a.m. Sunday;
Between 10:00 p.m. Sunday to Thursday, inclusive, and 6:00 a.m. on the following day.
Illinois Vehicle Code 625 5/6-110a-1 states that the driver’s license of a person under 18 years of age shall be invalid for the operation of any motor vehicle during those times. (Exceptions: Illinois Vehicle Code 625 5/6-110a-2)
It is a fact that after 11:00 p.m. on weeknights and 12:00 a.m. (midnight) on the weekend most organized events that children under 18 years of age attend are complete. The danger of running into a drunk driver increases, and certain crimes such as vandalism increase.
Children are our future and every effort must be taken to make Lake Forest a safe place for them. In an effort to make children safe in Lake Forest, the Curfew Ordinance is enforced.
When faced with a child who has violated Curfew, a Lake Forest Police Officer has several options available to constructively enforce this law.
The first is a Verbal or Written Warning. This might be used with youths who are out only a short time after Curfew.
A Curfew violator may be sent to Teen Court. There, a jury of the youth's peers will decide the punishment which may include community service.
An Ordinance Violation Notice may be issued and the Curfew violator will be sent to Administrative Hearing. A Hearing Officer presides and, if found liable based on the evidence presented, fines, penalties and costs may be imposed according to the guidelines set forth in the City Code.
Finally, the Officer may arrest the child or have him/her referred to juvenile court where the courts will decide the punishment. As in all listed options, the child's parents will be notified and normally the child will be turned over to his/her parents at the Police Station.
Unless exceptions apply, for a person less than 18 years of age who is driving and out after Curfew, the Officer also has the option of issuing a traffic citation for driving with no valid driver's license. This could end up with that particular child losing his/her license and the parent's insurance rates going up.
The last section of the Ordinance is important for all parents to see and remember. It states that you may be arrested if you knowingly allow your child to be out after Curfew.
Let's work together to make our children and community safe.