Skip to Main Content

City Government

The Lake Forest City Directory contains important information about Lake Forest elected and appointed officials, City staff and facilities, and other governmental agencies. It is updated annually and can be downloaded for easy reference.

The City of Lake Forest was incorporated as a City under a charter granted by the Illinois State Legislature in 1861 and 1869. This special charter provides advantages not available to cities incorporated under the general statutes enacted by the legislature after the adoption of the 1870 Illinois Constitution. The main advantage is that the charter permits Lake Forest to be administered efficiently and economically with a minimum number of separate government bodies.


"Be the best-managed, fiscally-responsible and appealing community and promote a community spirit of trust, respect and citizen involvement."

The City Council is the legislative and policy-making body and includes the Mayor and two Aldermen from each of the City's four wards. The Mayor is elected bi-annually for a two-year term and receives a token salary of $10 per year. Aldermen are elected to staggered two-year terms, with one Alderman elected from each Ward annually. Aldermen receive no compensation.

The City of Lake Forest operates under the council-manager form of government with the day-to-day operations of the City in the hands of a full-time, professional City Manager who is appointed by the Mayor with the approval of the City Council.

220 E. Deerpath, Lake Forest, IL 60045
(847) 234-2600
Non-Emergency Police:  (847) 234-2601

close (X)