Skip to Main Content

Historic Preservation Commission

The City of Lake Forest Historic Preservation Commission was established in 1997 as a continuation of the City's long tradition of taking proactive steps to preserve the historic character of Lake Forest. The Commission is made up of seven Lake Forest residents who are appointed by the Mayor, with the approval of the City Council. The Commissioners serve for a maximum of three two-year terms on a staggered basis.  The Commission is governed by the Historic Preservation Ordinance.

The Commission is responsible for carrying on the tradition in Lake Forest by preserving historic buildings, gardens and streetscapes as well as the overall historic character of the community. The Commission reviews projects that are inside the boundaries of the City's Historic Districts and projects that affect individual Landmark properties located throughout the City. The Commission reviews proposals for complete and partial demolitions, for new construction and requests for Building Scale variances. The Commission is also responsible for reviewing and evaluating the design and compatibility of additions and alterations. Utilize the links on the right to learn more about the Historic Preservation Commission or download an application.

To determin if your upcoming project requires review by the Historic Preservation Commission, please contact City staff at 847-810-3511.

The Historic Preservation Commission meets regularly on the fourth Wednesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. in the City Council Chambers on the second floor of City Hall, 220 E. Deerpath.  The * indicated below in the approved meeting schedule is a change in the normally scheduled meeting. Meetings dates are subject to change from the approved schedule. Please check the Public Meeting Schedule for up to date information on the upcoming meetings.

2017 Historic Preservation Commission Meeting Schedule
(Submittal Deadline noted in parenthesis at 3:30pm)

January 25
(Submittal Deadline: December 16)

February 22
(Submittal Deadline: January 19)

March 22
(Submittal Deadline: February 16)

April 26
(Submittal Deadline: March 16)

May 24
(Submittal Deadline: April 13)

June 28
(Submittal Deadline: May 18)

July 26
(Submittal Deadline: June 15)

August 23
(Submittal Deadline: July 13)

September 27
(Submittal Deadline: August 17)

October 25
(Submittal Deadline: September 14)

November 15*
(Submittal Deadline: October 12)

No December Meeting

Historic Preservation Commission Members

Name Address Phone
Bruce Grieve, Chairman 1301 Knollwood Circle 847-482-1169
Robert Alfe 1799 Hackberry Lane 847-295-3180
Carol Gayle 148 Washington Circle 847-234-8243
Jan Gibson 59 Franklin Place 847-615-8530
Bill Redfield 60 S. Asbury Court 847-337-5068
Elizabeth Sperry 754 Highview Terrace 847-331-6188
Wells Wheeler 1100 N. Waukegan Road 847-234-8219
Staff: Catherine J. Czerniak,
Director of Community Development
800 Field Drive 847-810-3504
Staff: Michelle Friedrich,
800 Field Drive 847-810-3511



Historic Preservation Commission (06:30 PM - 11:00 PM)

Event's details
October 25, 2017

Time:06:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Location: City Hall Council Chambers, Lake Forest, IL -60045


Historic Preservation Commission (06:30 PM - 11:00 PM)

Event's details
November 15, 2017

Time:06:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Location: City Hall Council Chambers, Lake Forest, IL -60045



Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Historic Preservation Commission 9.27.17

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

Historic Preservation Commission 8.23.17
Agenda / Minute

Monday, July 31, 2017

Historic Preservation Commission and Building Review Board Tour
Agenda / Minute

220 E. Deerpath, Lake Forest, IL 60045
(847) 234-2600
Non-Emergency Police:  (847) 234-2601

close (X)