Skip to Main Content

Plan Commission

In 1926, the Lake Forest City Council adopted an ordinance establishing the Plan Commission. The Commission is comprised of seven members appointed by the Mayor with the approval of the City Council. All members are residents of Lake Forest and each member may serve three, two-year terms.

The Commission was established to oversee subdivisions of land and matters related to zoning. These two areas remain a part of the Commission’s role today. In addition to reviewing requests for subdivision of land and zone changes, today, the Commission also reviews and holds public hearings on requests for Special Use Permits most often related to community institutions such as churches, schools and the hospital, and Special Use Permits related to development within the City’s Transitional and Business Zoning Districts. The Plan Commission also reviews proposed amendments to the Zoning Code, Subdivision Chapter of the City Code and the Comprehensive Plan. In addition, the Commission is often assigned special areas of study by the City Council.

Applications for matters that require Plan Commission consideration are available at the Community Development Department at the Municipal Services Building, by email or by calling (847)810-3504 for more information.

The Commission’s regularly scheduled meetings are the second Wednesday of the month at 6:30 p.m. at City Hall, 220 E. Deerpath. Commission meetings are broadcast LIVE on Channel 17 and are rebroadcast on Fridays at 7pm and Saturdays at 8am.  Videos of the meetings can also be viewed on the City's You Tube Channel.

The * indicated below in the approved meeting schedule is a change in the normally scheduled meeting. Meetings dates are subject to change from the approved schedule. Please check the Public Meeting Schedule for up to date information on the upcoming meetings.

Meeting Dates
2021 Plan Commission Meeting Dates
January 13
February 10
March 10
April 14
May 12
June 9
July 14
August 11
September 8 
October 13
November 10 
December 8


Plan Commission Members

Name Address Phone
Monica Artmann-Ruggles 175 Washington Cir 847-234-1980
Susan Athenson 901 Summit Avenue 847-295-6525
John Dixon 445 Wisconsin Avenue 847-701-4044
Steven Douglass 460 Washington Road 847-615-0236
Michael Freeman 1430 Harlan Lane 847-735-8470
Rosemary Kehr, Chair 600 Beverly Place 847-295-9057
James Moorhead 489 E. Illinois Road 773-750-2179
Staff: Cathy Czerniak
Director of Community
800 Field Drive 847-810-3504



Plan Commission (06:30 PM - 11:00 PM)

Event's details
February 10, 2021

Time:06:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Location: City Hall Council Chambers, Lake Forest, IL -60045



Wednesday, January 13, 2021

Plan Commission 1.13.2021
Agenda / Video

Wednesday, September 9, 2020

Plan Commission 9.9.2020
Agenda / Video

Wednesday, August 12, 2020

Plan Commission 8.12.2020
Agenda / Video / Minutes

220 E. Deerpath, Lake Forest, IL 60045
(847) 234-2600
Non-Emergency Police:  (847) 234-2601

close (X)