Skip to Main Content

Board of Fire and Police Commissioners

The Board of Fire and Police Commissioners is required by Illinois Statutes and was formed by City ordinance in 1970. The Director of Human Resources serves as Secretary to the Board. Three members are appointed by the Mayor, subject to approval by the City Council. They serve three-year terms on a staggered basis.

The function of the Board is to conduct competitive testing for entry-level sworn Fire and Police positions and establish appointment eligibility lists. The Board may also be involved in promotional testing and disciplinary matters.

By State law, appointed members may not hold any lucrative office or be related to any elected official of government.

Meeting Schedule

The Board meets on an as needed basis.

Board Members

Name Address Phone
Matt Davis 1240 N. Sheridan Road 735-8375
Steve Kernahan 743 Barat Court 234-2406
Greg Nikitas 1057 Buena Road 782-8200
Staff: DeSha Kalmar 800 N. Field Drive 810-3530


220 E. Deerpath, Lake Forest, IL 60045
(847) 234-2600
Non-Emergency Police:  (847) 234-2601

close (X)